News Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) – co-chair of the Senate Hunger Caucus – this week was awarded the World Food Program (WFP) USA’s annual McGovern-Dole Leadership Award for his bipartisan leadership to advance U.S. efforts to address global hunger.

“Addressing global hunger is important to providing economic stability worldwide and to strengthening American interests and our national security,” said Sen. Moran. “Access to food provides hope and opportunity; when parents have access to food, they can work to provide a better future for their children. When hunger no longer impedes children’s ability to learn, they can attend and remain in school, leading them down a path to greater economic opportunity. Providing international food aid and finding expedient, affordable and efficient ways to get food grown by U.S. farmers to those who need it most remains a priority.”

“Sen. Dole has long represented the compassionate spirit of Kansans and the farmers who feed the world, and this award was rightly named after him,” continued Sen. Moran. “I’m humbled to receive the World Food Program USA McGovern-Dole Leadership Award.”

“I am proud of Sen. Moran for his interest in world hunger issues,” said Sen. Bob Dole.As a Kansan, he knows how greatly our state has contributed to combating hunger worldwide. I congratulate him for receiving this award.”

Sen. Moran has championed global hunger relief since the beginning of his Congressional career, first as a member of the House Hunger Caucus and now as co-chair of the Senate Hunger Caucus. His work on the Senate Agricultural Appropriations Committee has secured crucial funding for international efforts to eradicate global hunger.

About the McGovern-Dole Leadership Award and World Food Program USA

Since 2001, WFP USA has hosted an annual awards ceremony to recognize leaders who have played a critical role in the fight against global hunger. The McGovern-Dole Leadership Award bears the names of Senator Bob Dole and the late Senator George McGovern in recognition of their longstanding commitment to feeding families in need. Their bipartisan collaboration has become the model for continuing U.S. leadership to make sure no child goes hungry.

Past award recipients include U.S. Senators George McGovern and Bob Dole, U.S. Representatives Jim McGovern and Jo Ann Emerson, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, Howard Buffett, Bill Gates, David Novak, Christina Aguilera, U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow and Michael Kors. World Food Program USA supports the mission of the United Nations World Food Programme, the leading humanitarian agency fighting hunger worldwide.