News Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) – chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice and Science –  today announced that Kansas will receive $4 million in grants from the Department of Justice’s COPS Hiring Program (CHP) for 15 law enforcement departments across Kansas.

“These grants will help Kansas communities hire additional officers to make certain the departments are properly staffed to meet the needs of their communities,” said Sen. Moran. “Every community in Kansas is unique, and I am pleased to see these grants provide law enforcement departments the flexibility to identify focus areas that will benefit their towns.”

Grant Recipients in Kansas:

Arkansas City Police Department


Atchison County Sheriff's Department


Bonner Springs Police Department


Bourbon County Sheriff's Department


Cheney Police Department


Cherryvale Police Department


Gardner Police Department


Goodland Police Department


Hesston Police Department


Hiawatha Police Department


Kansas City Police Department


Pratt Police Department


Wabaunsee County Sheriff's Department


Wellsville Police Department


Wichita Police Department


# # #