News Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (Kan.) today announced the members of his 2022 Service Academy Selection Board. The board will review applications and interview candidates who are applying for admission to the U.S. Service Academies.

“The opportunity to nominate talented Kansas students to attend our service academies is one of my greatest honors as a U.S. Senator,” said Sen. Moran. “These young men and women are committed, hardworking and humble, representing the very best of Kansas. Thank you to this year’s Service Academy Selection Board for their service and dedication to investing in the next generation of young leaders who will protect and serve our country. I look forward to receiving the board’s recommendations.”

Applicants will be interviewed by the selection board on Saturday, September 24 at the Cosmosphere in Hutchinson. The U.S. Service Academies include the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.

Sen. Moran’s 2022 Service Academy Selection Board:

  1. Lt. Col. (RET) Leslie Alford of Manhattan – Owner, Destiny Real Estate, U.S. Army veteran
  2. Judy Bauer of Leavenworth – Vice President, Henry Leavenworth Chapter Association of the U.S. Army
  3. Lt. Col. (RET) Bob Brock of Topeka – Director of Aviation, Kansas Department of Transportation, U.S. Air Force veteran
  4. Myca Bunch of Garden City – President, Garden City Area Chamber of Commerce, U.S. Air Force veteran
  5. Col. (RET) Jean Clifford of Garden City – Member, Kansas State Board of Education, retired U.S. Air Force Judge Advocate
  6. Bill Ebel of Overland Park – Adjunct Professor, The University of Kansas School of Public Administration, U.S. Military Academy graduate
  7. Steve Hawley of Lawrence – University of Kansas Professor Emeritus, Physics and Astronomy, Adjunct Professor of Aerospace Engineering, and former NASA Astronaut
  8. Darryl Kelly of Wichita – Assistant Vice President/Information Systems Project Manager, Equity Bank, U.S. Air Force veteran
  9. Cheryl Kerns of Olathe – Blue Valley West High School Math Teacher, mother of a U. S. Military Academy graduate
  10. Ryan Kriegshauser of Olathe – Partner, Kriegshauser Ney Law Group, U.S. Navy Reserve
  11. Marri Krupco of Blue Mound – Former Commander, Kansas American Legion; U.S. Marine Corps veteran
  12. Sara Lewis of Fairway – Former Naval Aviator and former USNA Adjunct Professor, U.S. Naval Academy graduate
  13. Steve Martinez of Garden City – Undersheriff, Finney County, U.S. Army veteran
  14. Richard McLeon of Dighton – General Manager, Lane-Scott Electric Cooperative, U.S. Army veteran
  15. Martin Miller of Great Bend – Manager, Great Bend Municipal Airport, U.S. Air Force Academy graduate
  16. Col. (RET) Dean Mitchell of Tonganoxie – Management Consultant, Burns & McDonnell, U.S. Army veteran
  17. Halley Roberson of Oberlin – City Administrator, City of Oberlin, U.S. Army veteran
  18. Major (RET) Emma Toops of Shawnee – Co-Owner, Toops Consulting, LLC, U.S. Army veteran
  19. Ron Whitney of Emporia – American Legion member, Veterans of Foreign Wars member, U.S. Army veteran
  20. Jacob Wood of Salina – Deputy City Manager, City of Salina, U.S. Army Reserves

    # # #