News Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and U.S. Senator Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) introduced a resolution this week to congratulate the Pittsburg State University (PSU) Gorillas football team for winning the 2011 NCAA Division II Football Championship, which passed the U.S. Senate today.

“Coach Beck and the Gorillas football team have accomplished a great feat by capping off a 13 win season with the team’s fourth NCAA Division II football national championship,” Sen. Moran said. “The Pitt State football program has a rich history of success, and the team, fans and people of Southeast Kansas deserve recognition for carrying on a winning tradition.”

“I am pleased Senator Moran and I could bring a bit of the Gorillas’ victory to the U.S. Senate by introducing this resolution honoring their triumph,” Sen. Roberts said. “The Gorillas proved they were the best on the field, and now the Senate has officially recognized them as the best D-2 team in America. To Coach Beck and his team, Pittsburg State fans all across the state and region– GOOO-RILLAS!”

On December 17, 2011, the Pitt State Gorillas defeated the Wayne State University Warriors by a score of 35 to 21 to win the 2011 NCAA Division II Football Championship in Florence, Alabama. Pitt State now has more all-time wins than any other NCAA Division II football program and this championship victory, the 4th in the history of the university, continues a long tradition of success.

The Pittsburg State University coaching staff, led by second-year Head Coach Tim Beck, the 2011 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winner for Division II, guided the Gorillas to a final regular season record of 13wins and 1 loss.

Click here to read the full text of the resolution.

# # #

Related Files