News Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) today applauded the nomination of Stephen McAllister of Lawrence, Kan. as United States Attorney for the District of Kansas.

“Professor McAllister’s bright legal mind and his litigation experience uniquely qualify him for this role,” Sen. Moran said. “Mr. McAllister is a veteran attorney and has had a distinguished career in federal litigation, as Kansas solicitor general and during his time clerking for two Supreme Court Justices. I look forward to supporting his confirmation.”

If confirmed by the United States Senate, McAllister, a University of Kansas School of Law graduate, will serve as the chief federal law enforcement officer in the state of Kansas by representing the federal government in civil and criminal matters before federal courts of his jurisdiction. In addition, the United States Attorney also takes a key leadership role in coordinating law enforcement activities and training.

Statement from the White House:


Office of the Press Secretary

September 8, 2017


President Donald J. Trump Announces Sixth Wave of United States Attorney Nominations

 President Donald J. Trump today announced his sixth wave of United States Attorney nominations. 

If confirmed, Stephen R. McAllister of Kansas will serve as the United States Attorney for the District of Kansas.  Mr. McAllister is currently the Solicitor General of Kansas and the E.S. & Tom W. Hampton Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of Kansas.  Mr. McAllister has argued nine times before the Supreme Court of the United States and currently teaches constitutional and federal civil rights law at the University of Kansas.  Mr. McAllister clerked for the Honorable Clarence Thomas of the United States Supreme Court, the Honorable Byron R. White of the United States Supreme Court, and the Honorable Richard A. Posner of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.  He received his B.A., with highest distinction, from the University of Kansas, and his J.D., magna cum laude, from the University of Kansas School of Law.