News Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following a request from the Kansas Congressional Delegation, the Biden Administration declared a Major Disaster Declaration this week for the State of Kansas in response to two back-to-back winter storms that occurred from March 17-22. This declaration will provide federal funds to help several communities in western and central Kansas recover from the severe winter storms that produced heavy snow and high wind gusts.

Earlier this month, U.S. Senators Jerry Moran (Kan.) and Roger Marshall, M.D. (Kan.) along with U.S. Representatives Ron Estes (KS-04), Sharice Davids (KS-03), Tracey Mann (KS-01) and Jake LaTurner (KS-02) requested this federal declaration to help trigger the release of federal resources.

“Kansans are no strangers to the devastation caused by storms and high winds,” said Sen. Moran. “These federal resources will help these 20 counties in rural Kansas rebuild after two damaging winter storms so that local families and business can continue to thrive.” 

“Communities and individuals across Kansas are facing a long road to recovery following the storms that ripped through communities in March,” said Sen. Marshall. “I applaud President Biden for granting this federal disaster declaration that will provide our state with the support and resources needed to rebuild and restore our communities. My office stands at the ready to help Kansans in need of federal assistance as they work towards getting back on their feet.”

“Kansans in our state are determined, resilient and rugged individuals who have been weather-tested for years,” said Rep. Estes. “While the spirit of these Kansans remains undeterred, the assistance provided from this federal disaster declaration will help communities rebuild following the two severe winter storms that impacted 20 counties.”

"This designation will help begin the recovery process after March's destructive storms,” said Rep. Davids. “I'm proud to join my congressional colleagues to ensure much-needed resources get to our neighbors in central and western Kansas."

“Kansans are resilient people,” said Rep. Mann. “Over the past couple of months, these communities have come together to rebuild from the winter storms last March. Now with this declaration of disaster, they will have access to resources to help them rebuild their homes, businesses, and farms, and make them even stronger than before.”

"Communities across Kansas were devastated following the back-to-back winter storms that ripped through our state in March," said Rep. LaTurner. "Heavy snow combined with severe wind gusts destroyed critical infrastructure and caused widespread damage across multiple counties. This disaster declaration will be vital in helping Kansans rebuild and recover from these severe storms."

The counties that will receive federal resources include Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ellis, Ford, Graham, Gray, Hodgeman, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Ness, Pawnee, Phillips, Rooks, Rush, Stafford, Trego and Wallace Counties. 

# # #