News Releases

WASHINGTON – This week, U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) cosponsored a resolution celebrating Black History Month and the contributions made by Black Americans throughout history. This resolution seeks to recognize the importance of Black History Month as an opportunity to celebrate the wealth of history provided by Black culture and to reflect on our shared history and the path ahead.

“From Langston Hughes and George Washington Carver, to Brown vs. Board of Education and Nicodemus, Kansans recognize Black Americans’ incredible contributions to our state and nation,” said Sen. Moran. “This resolution honors these contributions as we celebrate Black History Month. During this month-long observation, we reflect on the long struggle for equality faced by Black Americans in our country and continue our commitment to striving toward a nation that respects all of its people.”

The resolution was authored by U.S. Senators Tim Scott (R-S.C.) and Cory Booker (D-N.J.) and is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-N.Y.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.) and Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska). 

Full text of the resolution is available here.

# # #