News Releases

Only nine members of Congress received Wheat Advocate Award

 WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS) received the 2010 Wheat Advocate Award this week from the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) for his outstanding support of the wheat industry.

“Wheat producers help strengthen the Kansas economy and communities across our state, and when agriculture is successful, Kansas is successful,” Sen. Moran said. “I am honored to receive this award and will continue my longtime support of Kansas farmers, for the benefits of all Kansans.”

Throughout the past year, then-Congressman Moran worked on legislation to support wheat producers. He continued to champion enhanced agricultural trade with Cuba by co-authoring H.R. 4645, the Agricultural Export Facilitation Act, which would make it easier for wheat producers to sell wheat to Cuba. He also worked tirelessly to defend market-based risk management tools, like crop insurance, for agricultural producers.

“Senator Moran has been an excellent advocate for wheat, so this award is very fitting,” said Jerry McReynolds, president of the NAWG and a wheat farmer from Woodston, Kansas. “We value his understanding, knowledge and support of wheat, and we look forward to working with him in his new role.”

This is the sixth time Sen. Moran has been recognized by NAWG with the Wheat Advocate Award since 2000, having previously earned this award as a congressman from the Big First Congressional district. In addition to being one of only nine members of Congress to receive the 2010 Wheat Advocate Award, then-Congressman Moran was the 2004 recipient of the Wheat Leader of the Year Award, which is the highest honor given by NAWG.