News Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.) joined Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.) and 45 colleagues in introducing the Prohibiting IRS Financial Surveillance Act. This bill would prevent the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) from implementing Democrats’ plan to give the agency access to transaction information of virtually every American.

“President Biden and the Democrats’ invasive IRS proposal is a serious threat to the privacy and financial data of Kansans,” said Sen. Moran. “This proposal will give the IRS unprecedented access to the bank accounts of nearly every American in every tax bracket, and Kansans are right to be outraged. My colleagues and I will continue pushing back on this terribly intrusive plan and will work to implement legislative safeguards to protect the privacy of taxpayers.”

“Requiring financial institutions to comply with this IRS reporting proposal is incredibly intrusive, and violates the rights and privacy of hardworking Americans,” said Sen. Marshall. “This is just another example of the Biden Administration’s mission to expand the federal government’s control over every aspect of Americans’ lives. I’m proud to support legislation that will stop the IRS from harassing American taxpayers in a misguided attempt to fund the Administration’s reckless tax-and-spend spree.”

The bill is co-sponsored by Senators Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Pat Toomey (R-Penn.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), and Rob Portman (R-Ohio).

# # #