News Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) today announced his 2013 U.S. Service Academy Nominees. Sen. Moran selected nominees for admission after vetting by a 20-member board through an application and interview process. The U.S. Service Academies include the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.

“Thanks to all who applied and interviewed for admission to U.S. Service Academies,” Sen. Moran said. “Americans are fortunate to have so many intelligent, hard-working and patriotic young men and women interested in serving our country in the Armed Forces. Each of these nominees will do great things for Kansas and for our country.”

Nominees for the class of 2018 Service Academies include:

U.S. Air Force Academy
Jacob Brown, Kansas City – Piper High School
Jared Brown, Kansas City – Piper High School
Keana Ko, Lenexa – Kansas City Christian School
Luke McGowan, Basehor – Basehor-Linwood High School
Lindsey Medina, Wichita – Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School
David Nolan, Overland Park – Blue Valley West High School
Caitlyn Renne, Baldwin City – Alconbury High School
Scott Rider, Wichita – Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School
Lucas Scott, Olathe – Blue Valley Southwest High School
Caitlin Smith, Olathe – Olathe North High School 

U.S. Military Academy
Jarod Almond, Wichita – Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School
Ian Bollinger, Bendena – Doniphan West High School
Joshua Bosley, Goddard – Eisenhower High School
Ryan Brunner, Topeka – Washburn Rural High School
Collin Cushing, Independence – Independence Senior High School
Bryce Divis, Great Bend – Great Bend High School
Faith Ford, Wichita – Andover High School
Lexie Johnson, Bucyrus – Notre Dame de Sion
Joshua Kruse, Olathe – Olathe South High School
Kellen Mahood, Overland Park – Blue Valley North High School
Derek Martin, Conway Springs – Conway Springs High School
Jordan Yano, Overland Park – Blue Valley West High School 

U.S. Naval Academy
George Bousfield, Wichita – Wichita East High School
David Christie, Lansing – Lansing High School
Cory Donley, Salina – Sacred Heart Jr./Sr. High School
Dallas Ernsdorff, Lenexa – Shawnee Mission Northwest High School
Augusta Garies, Bonner Springs – St. James Academy
Mariah Klenke, Pittsburg – St. Mary’s Colgan High School
Alison Manske, Prairie Village – Shawnee Mission East High School
Carter McCausland, Wichita – Wichita Independent High School
Michael Pieschl, Brookville – Ell-Saline High School
Madison Sargent, Prairie Village – St. Teresa’s Academy
Madeline Ward, Lenexa – Olathe East High School
Abigail White, Wichita – Andover High School 

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Stephen Lucy, Leawood – Blue Valley North High School
Zebadiah Willey, Olathe – Olathe South High School
Jenna Schuckman, Hays – Thomas More Prep-Marian High School

Nominees must still meet the individual admission requirements of each academy, and the academies will make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission in early 2014.

Sen. Moran accepts applications for nominations to the United States Service Academies each year. Check his website in March 2014 for the class of 2019 application.