News Releases

Sen. Moran Receives 2012 Congressional Cancer Champion Award

Award recognizes longtime commitment to combatting cancer

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) this week received the 2012 Congressional Cancer Champion Award from One Voice Against Cancer (OVAC), to recognize his leadership in the fight against cancer and strong support for cancer research.

“Given the vast amount of progress made over the last century and the great potential current cancer research holds, now is not the time to waiver on America’s commitment to advancing further treatments and hopefully one day, a cure,” Sen. Moran said. “Our consistent, sustained support of medical research is essential to saving and improving lives, growing our economy, and maintaining America’s role as a global leader in medical innovation. This commitment will benefit our children and our country for generations to come – offering hope to millions of patients.”

“Senator Moran has been a real champion of cancer research sponsored by the National Institutes of Health,” said Dick Woodruff, Chairman of One Voice Against Cancer. “He understands the importance of American leadership in medical research and how federal funds lead to breakthroughs in Kansas labs and research facilities in every state. On behalf of One Voice Against Cancer, I thank Senator Moran for his leadership in the fight against cancer.”  

The Congressional Cancer Champion Award is an honor bestowed by OVAC on federal lawmakers who undertake extraordinary efforts to enact legislation that advances the nation’s fight against cancer. One Voice Against Cancer (OVAC) is a coalition of health care stakeholder groups representing millions of cancer researchers, patients, survivors and their families throughout the nation.

Attached is a photo of Sen. Moran being presented the 2012 Congressional Cancer Champion Award by Kansas volunteers from OVAC’s member organizations, including Peggy Johnson of Wichita, Pam Howe of Kansas City, Michelle Derusseau of Lawrence, Mike Harper of Olathe, and Leesa Gabel of Olathe.