News Releases

Sen. Moran Continues to Uphold Eisenhower Legacy

Appointed to Eisenhower Memorial Commission

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) today announced Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) has been appointed to serve on the Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission, whose mission is to establish a permanent memorial in Washington, D.C. to honor former General and President Dwight D. Eisenhower. Sen. Moran previously served on the Commission as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives.

“I consider it a great privilege to continue serving on the Eisenhower Memorial Commission,” Sen. Jerry Moran said. “President Eisenhower’s legacy of protecting our country and the American people is most deserving of a memorial. I look forward to helping establish a memorial so future generations can learn of President Eisenhower’s contributions to our country.”

“I am delighted Jerry agreed to serve on this important Commission,” said Sen. Mitch McConnell. “Jerry has represented President Eisenhower’s hometown of Abilene for over 14 years and has a personal passion to honor Ike’s dedication to our country. I am glad he will be working to make sure the lessons Ike taught our country are never forgotten. The dedication of a memorial to his life and service is long overdue.”

“The Eisenhower Memorial Commission welcomes the appointment of Kansas Sen. Jerry Moran,” said Brig. General (Ret). Carl Reddel, Executive Director of the Eisenhower Memorial Commission. “Sen. Moran was a passionate supporter of the Commission’s work during his time in the House. We are confident this keen support will continue in the Senate. Sen. Moran strengthened the Commission’s ties to the Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum in Abilene. Sen. Moran will play a key role in completing the Commission’s Congressional mandate to honor this great American while giving his beloved Kansas an extraordinary permanent presence in the nation’s capital.”

Sen. Moran was first appointed to serve on the Commission in 2000 and remained until 2010, while he represented Kansans in the U.S. House of Representatives. The Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Commission is a twelve member body with four members appointed by the President, four appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and four appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.