News Releases

Sen. Moran Appointed to Homeland Security Committee

Will work to protect American homeland

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) was appointed this week to the U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs (HSGAC), which has jurisdiction over the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and broad oversight authority over federal government agencies.

“I extend a warm welcome to Senator Moran and look forward to his contributions to the Committee,” said Senator Joe Lieberman (I-CT), Chairman of HSGAC. “Senator Moran will bring solid legislative experience to our deliberations as well as a deep connection to the nation’s heartland.”

“I look forward to working with Senator Moran, who brings a commonsense approach and a fresh point of view to the important issues under the Committee’s jurisdiction,” said Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), Ranking Member of HSGAC. “The Chairman and I share the Senator from Kansas’ commitment to our ongoing work on critical issues vital to our government and to our nation’s security.”

“I take seriously my role in fulfilling our government’s primary Constitutional responsibility – to keep Americans secure,” Sen. Moran said. “From strengthening our borders, guarding against terrorist attacks, and responding to natural disasters, I will work to better protect our country’s citizens from the threats we face.”

In addition to overseeing the Department of Homeland Security, the Committee investigates the efficiency of government operations, and the possible existence of fraud, waste, and improper expenditure of government funds.

“Far too often, taxpayer dollars are wasted on ineffective or duplicative government programs that our country can’t afford,” Sen. Moran said. “With the tremendous fiscal challenges facing our nation, I will work to make sure our federal agencies are operating in a cost-effective way and are held accountable to American taxpayers.”

Sen. Moran serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security, in addition to the following Committees: Appropriations; Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs; Veterans’ Affairs; Small Business and Entrepreneurship; and the Special Committee on Aging.


# # #