Kansas Common Sense


Welcome to “Kansas Common Sense.” Thanks for your continued interest in receiving my weekly newsletter. Please feel free to forward it on to your family and friends if it would interest them.

Announcing $1.2 Million in HHS Grants Awarded to Kansas Health Centers
Health centers across Kansas provide an invaluable service to their communities, and the healthcare professionals they employ are committed to improving outcomes for Kansans. This HHS grant funding will make certain these centers have the resources to continue providing high-quality care. As a member of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, I will continue supporting the work of these health centers and working with HHS and health center leadership to advance the wellness of Kansans.

HRSA’s Quality Improvement Awards recognize the work that health centers do to address health priorities by designating health centers that ranked in the top 1-2 percent in one or more key areas – behavioral health, diabetes prevention and management and heart health – as National Quality Leaders. The top 30 percent of health centers that achieve the best overall clinical performance receive designation as Health Center Quality Leaders.

Kansas Health Center Quality Improvement FY2019 grant recipients include: 

  • Atchison Community Health Clinic, Atchison
  • Cowley County Community Health Center, Winfield
  • Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas, Pittsburg
  • First Care Clinic, Hays
  • Flint Hills Community Health Center, Emporia
  • GraceMed Health Clinic, Wichita
  • Health Ministries Clinic, Newton
  • Health Partnership Clinic, Olathe
  • HealthCore Clinic, Wichita
  • Heart of Kansas Family Health Care, Great Bend
  • Heartland Medical Clinic, Lawrence
  • Kansas State Department of Health & Environment, Topeka
  • Konza Prairie Community Health & Dental Center, Junction City
  • Prairie Star Health Center, Hutchinson
  • Salina Health Education Foundation, Salina
  • County of Sheridan, Kan., Sheridan
  • Hunter Health Clinic, Wichita
  • United Methodist Western Kansas

Hosting Bipartisan Congressional Startup Day

This week, I joined Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.), U.S. Representative Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.) and Engine to cohost Congressional Startup Day 2019.

Entrepreneurs and their innovative work represent the American dream in its purest form, and in Congress, we’re committed to creating a pro-growth atmosphere that allows them to thrive. Through my role on the Senate Entrepreneurship Caucus and as a member of the Senate Commerce Committee I’ve introduced the bipartisan Startup Act that would encourage research and development and jumpstart growth in every sector of the economy. For more on Startup Day 2019 and our work to eliminate barriers for innovators, click here.

Recognizing National Aviation Day
This week, we celebrated National Aviation Day and Kansas’s position as Air Capital of the World. We applaud Kansas’ dominant presence in this industry and the hardworking and talented men and women who advance aviation and help connect the world every day.


Honored to be the NASCOE 2019 Legislator of the Year
Thank you to the National Association of FSA County Office Employees (NASCOE) for hosting their national convention in Manhattan this past week and for recognizing me with their 2019 Legislator of the Year award. I am humbled to have been selected by the men and women that serve our farmers and ranchers in local farm service agency county offices and I remain committed our work to protect and preserve rural America and its special way of life. A special thanks to Marla Hammer and Lory Scott for their work in organizing the conference.

Now Accepting Service Academy Nomination Applications
Each year, I have the honor of appointing Kansans to the following academies: U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. With the school year fast approaching, we are now accepting applications from qualified high school seniors.

Eligible applicants must be:

  • a resident of Kansas
  • unmarried citizens of the United States with no dependents
  • at last 17 years old, but not past their 23rd birthday on July 1st of the year they wish to be admitted

You can apply for the class of 2024 by going to my website here to download an application. In order to be considered for an interview by Senator Moran’s Service Academy Screening Board, the application must be received in Sen. Moran’s Olathe office by September 6, 2019. Please contact Lisa Dethloff by phone at 913-393-0711 or by email at lisa_dethloff@moran.senate.gov with any questions.

Kansans in the Office

Capitol Tour
Mark Schmidt of Olathe
Carson Schmidt of Olathe

Honored to Serve You in Washington
It is an honor to serve you in Washington, D.C. Thank you to the many Kansans who have been calling and writing in to share their thoughts and opinions on the issues our state and country face. I appreciate the words of Kansans, whether in the form of a letter, a Facebook comment, or a phone call, who wish to make their voice heard.

Please let me know how I can be of assistance. You can contact me by email by clicking here. You can also click here to contact me through one of my Kansas offices or my Washington, D.C., office.

Very truly yours,


Newsletter Sign-up Form

Note: Fields marked with an * are required.